Killer Quads


This post is going to be short and sweet – but I just feel compelled to share a single exercise that I found on the internet, that has killed my quads both times that I have done it.

I call it a “Single Arm Thruster”.  I have no idea if that is the correct name for it or not, but that’s my name.  Basically, its a squat while holding a weight in one hand that you lower to your shoulder when you squat down, and lift over your head as you rise.  I drew some pictures below.  Badly drawn, but the alternative is pictures of me doing it and I have not reached acceptance of my body image yet to the point that I will use myself as a model.  In short, you are stuck with my crappy drawings.

Pay no attention to the fact that I have a single clown foot and ‘cankles’. And ridiculously small thighs…

I guess I am posting this because I use my quads a LOT, and this exercise turned them to mush.  Besides working them in the gym and outdoors, I am also in genetic possession of my father’s thunder thighs.  But both times I did this exercise, I ended up with sore quads for 2 or 3 days.  And I mean REALLY sore.  Like, “needing to use the handicap rails in the bathroom” sore.  I can barely walk down the stairs sore.  I’m afraid to squat down on the floor to pick anything up because I don’t think I can get back up sore.  Holy crap sore.  Geez, did I mention sore?

So I thought I would share – misery loves company and all that.

The key to doing this exercise effectively is to be sure to pick a weight that is heavy enough to have you a little off balance, but not so heavy that it has you struggling to get it over your head. I think Amanda and I used a 10 pound weight last time, but experiment from 5# on up, depending on your level of fitness.

Start with the weight on your shoulder, your legs spread apart a bit past your shoulders.

More cankles, and I just realized I am not anatomically correct. Ha!

Squat down, like you are going to sit in a chair, being careful to keep your knees from extending past your feet.  Get down as low as you can, and then begin rising.  As you rise, slowly lift the weight over your head, timing it so the weight reaches top height at the same time your legs straighten.  Then go back down into your squat, lowering the weight in time with your descent.  Do this for 12 reps, switch weight to other side, do 12 more reps, rest, and then repeat 2 more times.

If you are like me, and you like to get as much into your workout as possible, instead of resting in between sets, you can do a different exercise or exercises.  Something like this:

Single Arm Thrust x 12 each leg

Abs on the ball x 15

Tricep dips x 12

Repeat 3 times

You can also incorporate this into Tabata or circuit training.  And now, because my nice short post took on a life of it’s own, I’m going to sign off.  Let me know if you have any questions by clicking in the “Leave a Reply” link below, and post your question in the box that appears.

Happy Friday!

Sue

3 thoughts on “Killer Quads

  1. josh

    I am intrigued enough to want to try it. Maybe I’ll see if Tricia will do it on Wednesday. If not, I try it solo on Friday. Thanks for sharing. Oh, and I FINALLY am an official follower of your blog. Lordy how I am not computer literate.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

