The Importance of Rest


If you can’t be a good example, then you’ll just have to be a horrible warning – Catherine Aird

Some days, I am my own worst enemy. I had a very busy weekend where I spent a lot of time outdoors, plus I was up early and to bed late. This trend continued into Monday, as I stayed up late to watch the Packers – Seahawks game (and we all know how THAT ended). By the time I finished watching commentary, reading Tweets, texting friends and family and reading Facebook, it was 1am. So much wasted energy-exactly why learning to watch the Packers just for fun and not allowing it to influence my moods is on my bucket list. Epic fail this week.

I was pretty non-functional Tuesday. And not only Tuesday. Monday too. And Sunday. Three days, in fact, where I functioned at less than optimum, because I was sleep deprived and exhausted. Do you know what I do when I am sleep deprived and exhausted? I eat crappy food, which leads to more exhaustion. Seriously, you think I would learn.

When the student is ready, the master will come!

Besides eating crappy food, there were other consequences of not getting enough rest. Like under performing at work because I was having a hard time concentrating and organizing my work load. Falling behind on household chores (I currently have 5 loads of laundry waiting for me). Falling asleep during my Forgotten God class at church. Not having the time to blog because I have been playing catch up all week on other stuff. The list is long and probably boring to many of you but I am also pretty sure you all can relate.

God gave a list of 10 Commandments to Israel on Mount Sinai way back in the day. One of those was to “keep holy the Sabbath” (another bucket list item btw). Basically God said we are to work six days and rest one, because He knows that we need to replenish our bodies, minds and spirits. I don’t know about you but I take a beating during those six days. I need that rest, as evidenced this past week.

When Lucky was a puppy, he really knew how to rest. Now…not so much!

I know I have a lot I want to do, goals I want to reach. I can’t do it if I’m too tired to think, work, play, pray, or worship. I will never achieve my goals going on just my own steam. I have to surrender myself to God’s rest, one day a week, in order to excel and move forward in any of my goals the following six. Kinda funny, but I have to accomplish learning to rest in order to accomplish anything else!

I’m not great at surrender (shocking) so this may be one of my greater challenges. I think it will help me to remember that “the sabbath was made for man, not man for the sabbath” (Mark 2:27).  Knowing that God purposefully set aside a day for me to be restored gives me motivation!

What happens to you when you don’t get enough rest?  How have you learned to respond?

May God’s peace and rest find you all this week!

Sue

4 thoughts on “The Importance of Rest

  1. scubaqueen

    The older I get the more I realize there will always be stuff to do, cleaning to do, job tasks to complete, and the list goes on. I think the key thing is to remember today is only one day, the world will not fall apart if those things don’t get done, and I will be much happier for it. Let yourself off the hook once in awhile. So I just say WTH and leave some tasks undone, because my enjoyment of life is not dependent upon whether my llist is finished. Hope that answers the question.

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      Great advice my friend. I have a very hard time leaving tasks on my list undone. Intellectually, I know they will all still be there, and the world won’t fall apart. Mentally…that is another story!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

