You Are Not–And Never Will Be–In Control. But It’s Okay!


I have a few blogs that I read faithfully every time they post, and Eugene Scott’s is one of them. I loved his last post and wanted to share it with my friends and family. Enjoy!

The Year of Living Spiritually

Recently a good friend took his first job as a pastor. He asked several friends and pastors for advice on how to start this exciting and important calling. Below is my response. I think you might get something from it too.

Dear Mark:

I am honored and humbled that you asked for my wisdom and advice as you move into your first pastorate. You mention you are just a “little trepidatious” about this step in your life. That’s how I feel about writing any such letter and giving advice. As you know from our long relationship, I have a stack of life and pastoral mistakes that Sir Edmund Hillary might consider too tall to climb. Then again maybe that’s why you asked. So, with trepidation and apologies I’ll take my shot.

You are not in control.

Countless are the people and things I’ve loved and believed in so deeply and…

View original post 706 more words

One thought on “You Are Not–And Never Will Be–In Control. But It’s Okay!

Leave a Reply

