Fall Photo Journey


Today I am posting a few pictures from fall.  I think it is safe to say that the beauty of fall is passing, and winter is setting down roots.  The last couple of mornings we have had temperatures below freezing and certain yorkie-poos I know were hesitant to venture out on the frosty grass.  They gave me the evil doggie eye when I made them go out anyway.

The first set of pictures are from the Fox River Trail in late September.  The most interesting thing is what someone wrote on the boards of the bridge that goes over the East River.  You have to look closely to read it all, but I also have it in the caption beneath it.  Has anyone read this book?  Interested to hear your take on it if you did.  I never have.

Fox River Trail

“Want the truth about why the world is the way it is? Were you in a union? Read: “Hope Of The Wicked: The Master Plan To Rule The World” by Ted Flynn. Read the whole thing before you judge. Then you’ll understand!”

Fox River Trail

Bridge over the East River on the Fox River Trail

Fox River Trail

Under the bridge.

Fox River Trail

Fox River Trail

Final blooms!

This next set is from my work trip to Boston in early October.  Not much time for goofing off, but we did get some fun in.  The pictures of all the fabulous bakery are from Mike’s Pastry in the North End.  They have the BEST cannolis.  Totally worth the blisters I got from wearing brand new shoes that day.  Yes, now I know – never bring new shoes on a trip!

Mike's Pastry

MMmmmmmmmmmm

Mike's Pastry

Another great shot of Mike’s. Check out the tin ceiling. You can only pay with cash at Mike’s, so leave your Visa at home!

Mike's Pastry

I really wanted to get one of these too, but didn’t want to have to have all my clothes altered before I went home.

Mike's Pastry

My chocolate chip cannoli. Sooo good. Sadly, I only had one.

Boston

Quincy Square

Boston

Boston

Quincy Square

While walking around the Quincy Square area on Friday morning, we ran across the New England Holocaust Memorial.  It began to rain while we walked thru the monuments with the millions of tattoo numbers inscribed on them.

New England Holocaust Memorial, BostonNew England Holocaust Memorial, BostonNew England Holocaust Memorial, Boston

Some of you may not know what I do for my ‘day job’.  Nothing to glamorous – I sell commercial furniture for KI in Green Bay.  Part of my trip was visiting customers with my field reps.  The next two pictures are from an install of ours at Simmons College.  I love it when a plan comes together!

Simmons College

Portico tables with Strive chairs.

Simmons College

Sela Chairs in Pallas Busy Bee fabric

The following weekend after getting back from Boston, I went to Chicago with my sister and my niece to watch my other niece kick butt in the Chicago Marathon.  This was her first, and we decided we needed to cheer her on!  Congratulations, Alyssa!

Chicago Marathon

We know Alyssa is in there somewhere!!

Chicago Marathon

There she is!! Close to the finish! We were eating Garrett’s popcorn while we cheered!

Chicago Marathon

WINNER! 🙂

While we were looking for Alyssa at the start, we ran across these ladies.  I chased them down for the photo because my daughter’s name is Lindsay and she absolutely hates running.  Then they turned around, and I had to agree!  Lindsay IS the best!  🙂  Love you, honey!

Chicago Marathon

Lindsay says, “No! No!”

Chicago Marathon

I wholeheartedly agree!

A couple of random pictures from the weekend after the Chicago Marathon – one from the Bridge Between in Denmark and the other from the Fox River Trail.

The Bridge BetweenThe Fox River Trail

And my final pictures are from a walk I took with the dogs.  I walk them every day, but with the shorter days, it’s often dark by the time we leave.  This was one of the rare occasions we got out before the sun set.  I love walking thru cemeteries, although they used to scare me as a kid.  I read the tombstones and imagine the lives of the person beneath it – especially if it’s from the 19th or early 20th century.  I try to imagine how the city must have looked then, and what they wore and what they did for a living.  I think the pictures below capture the solitude of quiet in the midst of a busy day.

Mount Olivet Cemetery

Mount Olivet Cemetery

Mount Olivet Cemetery

Mount Olivet Cemetery

Mount Olivet Cemetery

Mount Olivet Cemetery

Mount Olivet Cemetery

Mount Olivet Cemetery

Mount Olivet Cemetery

Mount Olivet Cemetery

I will leave you all with my last picture – a little less somber!  This one reminds me of confetti or fireworks or sprinkles on frosting.

Stay warm my friends!
Sue

Fall

 

4 thoughts on “Fall Photo Journey

    1. Sue Post author

      Hi! I do too! It makes the coming of winter so much more tolerable, although winter has a beauty of it’s own, too. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

