#100HappyDays Part 2


Welcome to my second installment of 100 Happy Days!  For those of you who missed the first installment, you can read it here.  For the rest of you, read on!

January 24th:

This video.  I have been cracking up at this since I first saw it about a month ago.  It’s totally ridiculous and dumb – typical Will Ferrell.  Which is, of course, why I love it.  Between The Daver, my friends, and my kids – pretty sure we have this memorized.  You pickin’ up what I’m puttin’ down?

January 25th:

Target

Doesn’t everyone need a little Pug creamer…planter…thing? I know I do!

Spending an evening with my daughter, which started with watching Portlandia, then shopping, and ended with dinner.  Winning!

January 26th:

Scotchy Scotch Scotch.  I love Scotch!

Scotchy Scotch Scotch. I love Scotch!

We have our house up for sale, and are anxiously watching a spec home being built that we really want to buy.  We keep driving by it to see the progress, and then we go home and chew our nails and say a few prayers.  This last picture shows they have the windows in.  We just hope someday they will be our windows.

January 27th:

chrome

Early gift from my son for my birthday – Chromecast!  It’s a small device that allows you to watch shows from NetFlix or HBO Go or Hulu on your TV.  Pretty easy to set up (so easy, a Mom can do it!) and now I can watch New Girl, Downton Abbey, and Sherlock, all on the big screen.  I’m almost done with New Girl, so will need to start a new series pretty quick.  Vote below in the comments if you think it should be Downton Abbey or Sherlock or ??

January 28th:

Alex and Ani

I forgot to turn the image before I uploaded it, and now I’m too lazy. You’ll just have to turn your head if you want to read the card.

Early gift from my great friend, Susan (such a great name – you know she must be extra great.  Because of her name.  Susan.  Susan is Great.  Or Sue.  Sue is Great).  It’s a lovely Alex and Ani bracelet, with a garnet charm.  This is my second one, so be jealous.  These are all the rage on the East Coast!  And you all know what a fashion diva I am.  Because I am great.  And I should tell you that I don’t think I was technically supposed to open it early, but I did anyway.  Because I am great.  And have the mind of a 12-year-old.  And I am impatient.  But mostly the great part.

January 29th:

Sue is great, and gets a tiara for her birthday.

Sue is great, and gets a tiara for her birthday.

I didn’t really get this on the 29th, but I forgot to take a picture for this day, and it was like a zillion degrees below zero again, so I think my happy had something to do with laying in front of the fire like a zombie while playing Tapped Out and eating cookies, and nobody really needs to see a picture of that.  So instead, look at the freaking awesome tiara my sister got me, and the fun book about 50 Things To Do When You Turn 50.  I am already attracted to “Wear Comfortable Clothes” section and the “Stop Obsessing About Your Flaws” section (being so great AND wearing a tiara, I will just skim this section).

January 30th:

Old.  Bag.

Old. Bag.

These beautiful flowers from my thoughtful, bestest friend Donna-Lips, who, even though she officially became an Old Bag 8 months before me, obviously has not felt the effects of CRS disease (Can’t Remember Shit) as she remembered to send my gift heralding my entrance to Old Bag-dom a full day early.

January 31st – February 2nd:

Dave and I decided this ice formation looked like a dragon or a crocodile.  It made me smile all day.

Dave and I decided this ice formation looked like a dragon or a crocodile head. It made me smile all day.

"Sea Glass"

“Sea Glass”

Ice, Ice, Baby

Ice, Ice, Baby

Where's my Corona??  And cabana boy?

Where’s my Corona?? And cabana boy?

A message to Dave

A message to Dave

Snow dunes

Snow dunes

Cave Point Park

Cave Point Park

More Cave Point.  Notice the kayaker.  The beauty was worth the risk, though, I bet.

More Cave Point. Notice the kayaker. The beauty was worth the risk, though, I bet.

Shattered, icy glass.

Shattered, icy glass.

Trekking along the beach

Trekking along the beach

All of these pictures are from my birthday weekend celebration at Glidden Lodge in Door County.  You only become an Old Bag once in your life, so might as well do it right.  We had a fantastic time, and it was exactly what I needed – some down time off the grid, while enjoying God’s good and beautiful earth.

February 3rd:

No caption necessary.

I wish all Monday’s were this good!

Can't wait to wear the t-shirt.  I'm such a geek.

Can’t wait to wear the t-shirt. I’m such a geek.  Grover approves.

Coming to work to find this in my cube.  Yes.  My imaginary boyfriend, The Wolverine, courtesy of my other bestie – LaDawnduh.  You know, I have been blessed with some truly fantastic friends, but they do like to pick on me a bit.  I guess it’s because I’m just so great!  When I brought it home tonight, The Daver asked “Why do you have a picture of me with Hugh Jackman’s face on it?”

And there you go!  Another episode of #100HappyDays in the books!  I will be off the grid the rest of this week as we have our big sales meeting for my day job Thursday – Saturday, so I won’t see you all again until probably the 13th.  Stay tuned though – I will be introducing a new “hero”!

Until then, stay warm my friends!
Sue

10 thoughts on “#100HappyDays Part 2

  1. Your niece, Ellie

    First of all. Your Chromecast priority should be Sherlock. Second, since your last post, I couldn’t help but think of a happy moment I would blog about if I actually had a blog. Don’t worry I don’t have time to post the whole witty article I wrote in my head while taking a shower. Instead, I’ll just mention the moment, which was basically the day after Madeline’s 3rd birthday when she actually picked out the clothes I bought for her birthday to wear for the day. This is a big deal because she would the same shirt/skirt/pants every single day if I let her, so the ability to actually pick out something she liked and would wear willingly was a happy moment for me:) It’s ironic because you can pick out a present for Adam in 5 minutes and he’ll love it. In contrast, you could spend hours picking out the perfect gift for Madeline, and she might want nothing to do with this perfect gift.

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      First of all- note taken about Sherlock. Second – I love that you also write witty articles in your head while you shower. Someday, when your kids are older and you have a dog or two to walk instead, you will also write them while you walk the dogs. Third – welcome to raising a daughter. When Lindsay was 2, I got her the cutest darn outfit EVER, and she refused to wear it. But then again-I seem to remember Matt having a hissy fit on his third birthday so maybe it’s the age, not the gender. Hmmmm. No, it’s the gender.

      Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      Lol – yes the chairs were a nice touch. Had to laugh when I saw them, and then wondered why they just left them out. There was a zip up tent pavilion along the way too. I was too lazy by then to snow shoe over to it and take a picture.

      Reply
  2. Your SIS!

    I say Downton would be a great choice. But it will suck you in and you may never get off the couch! PS. Kleenex is usually necessary during viewing!

    Reply
  3. Bobbie Conard

    HMMMMMMMM????!!!!!!! Do I know you? Tight pants indeed!!!!!! We always knew we raised a cultured woman, girl, child, just pick one. We love them all. And did so enjoy the pictures on the beach.

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      Um…Hi Mom!! 🙂 Glad to know you still love me despite my questionable taste in humor. Probably wii stop over on Sunday, but will give you a call. And love you too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

