LG Appliances and the Ocarina of Time: How Doing Laundry Brings Me to Nerdvana


zeldaI promise this will be my last post about the move. I was going to devote this entire blog post to how my LG Washer and Dryer remind me of my all time favorite video game (it really was the best) and believe me, it’s not because I don’t have enough material. It’s just that I realize it will be butt ass boring for the majority of you, so you will only have to endure a paragraph of it.

Side note: I am writing this in peace while my dogs are entertained by Costco bully sticks. If you don’t know what a bully stick is, google it, because I’m not getting into that after all the hoopla over last weeks blog and certain body parts. If you do know what they are, and you have a dog that likes them, Costco has them for $25 for a bag of 12 really long ones. Yeah, gross. But my dogs love them and I can type in relative silence. Plus, I made Dave saw them all into thirds, so for me it was really like getting 36 of them for $25.  Yay, me!

My singing appliances.

My singing appliances.

So, you remember the cake eating saga of preparing to move, and how purchasing new appliances gave me heartburn and I only got Tums instead of cake. Turns out I love my new machines, so I guess it was worth all the angst – the washer is a little noisy when it spins if you have a big load in it, but it’s so nice to actually end up with clean clothes. I barely need to use any detergent and they come out smelling delicious. Almost better than cake. The bonus is that LG appliances make adorable video game beeps when you start them, and they sing to you when they are finished. The video game phenomena was brought to my attention by my son, who casually mentioned how it reminded him of Zelda. Or more precisely, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, also known as the BEST VIDEO GAME EVER CREATED. If you have a differing opinion, I will say this once and once only. Your opinion is invalid.

Side Note #2.  Matt never played Zelda. Ever. He watched Lindsay and I play it. It was weird, because he didn’t have the same eye/hand coördination needed for a first or third person player (that’s technical video game lingo for you non-nerds. It means a game where you are the main character, either thru that persons eyes (first person) or from behind the character (third person)), which was weird because he could drive a car at 18 months. The first video game he ever tried was Richard Scary’s Busy Town, and he would only play if he could drive the pick up truck, which he would promptly run into the river because he couldn’t figure out how to make it turn. Then the policeman-dog came and Matt would laugh hysterically. Took me a while to figure out he was doing it on purpose. 

This is exactly what he would do every single time.  Drive that truck into the river.

This is exactly what he would do every single time. Drive that truck into the river.

Zelda for N64 changed how we looked at video games and what we expected of them. You didn’t just run in a straight line, or vertically jump, or shoot arrows forward or backward. You ran in circles and across fields and climbed vines and floated thru the air with chickens and shot arrows in any direction you wanted and swam underwater.

And you got a pony. A PONY. How can you not like a game that gives you a fricken pony??

 

 

It was full of tough puzzles to solve, and easter eggs to find and if you weren’t careful, you got strangled by redeads or grabbed by the scary black ceiling wall master hands. I HATED those things. It was like giant black spiders dropping on you, and if you whacked them with your sword, they turned into three smaller super fast ones. The worst part was you didn’t know they were in the room until you were in the middle of it and the scary ceiling wall master hand music started playing. The redeads weren’t much better. Basically brown mummy zombies that moved really slow but at a certain distance they mesmerized you and then jumped on your back and strangled you from behind. Once they were on your back, you were done.

 

 

But mostly, you got to ride Epona and visit faeries and shoot Skultullas and solve puzzles and travel the vast world of Hyrule meeting new people on your quest to rescue Zelda.

 

 

Okay, more than a paragraph- sorry. And a few videos.  And I was going to move on, but now my friend Megan posted this awesome video on Facebook, and Lord help me but I just can’t stop – this post is doomed.

 

 

And then, my friend Collie got Leonard Nimoy to retweet her. Holy crap. This has been a booming nerd week.

 

Can I get a retweet?

Can I get a retweet?

 

And then, there was this – posted by my friend Catrina.

 

 

I would totally wear this shirt. That’s a hint to all my friends. My birthday is only 10 months away. You could start planning anytime now, you know.  You can find them here: http://shirt.woot.com/offers/reading-rambo.

And then there was this:

 

luke

 

And this from Doreen:

 

AtAtDogKnocksOverGarbageCan

 

And then my son sent me this:

 

 

Which doesn’t come out until next year, but Matt and I are already stoked about it.  I could truly write another nerd blog just focusing on Jurassic Park. Complete scientific baloney, which is exactly why I love it. Don’t make my mind stay in a box with your scientific facts!

 

 

And then I saw this video today about escaping Honey Badgers,

 

 

which prompted me to send it to my son with the caption “Don’t turn off the honey badger fence,” and his response of, “They should all be destroyed,” which then prompted the creation of this:

Photo property of Brick House - created by Matt DeGroot.  Yeah, baby.

Photo property of Brick House – created by Matt DeGroot. Yeah, baby.

 

And then this movie comes out in a mere 21 days. Oh yeah. Already saving up for popcorn.

 

 

And that is about all the nerd I have for one night.  And reading my blog doesn’t count if you don’t watch the videos.  Especially the Jedi Cat one.  Until next time:

Your bestest nerd buddy,

Sue

 

 

2 thoughts on “LG Appliances and the Ocarina of Time: How Doing Laundry Brings Me to Nerdvana

  1. sueslaght

    Would this be a bad time to share that I don’t play video games because they give me motion sickness? 🙂 i saw that Honey Badger video and thought it was amazing. Clever animal.

    Reply
  2. Sue Post author

    Haha- no, not a bad time, but I am sure glad I didn’t have that reaction to them. Yeah wasn’t that crazy about that honey badger? I was especially amazed at how he built his own mud balls. Holy smart.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

