Sue The Explorer With Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Fire or Season of Summer


Welcome to another addition of Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge!  This week the theme is “Fire or Season of Summer”.

At first, I didn’t think I had too many photos for this, but after going thru my library, I actually had too many!  In fact, I still probably have too many….but I am horrible at cutting a potential prospect, because there is a story behind every photo, and you all know how I like to talk.

My first photo is from about 5 years ago, when I first got my new camera.  Which is now an “old” camera…  Anyway, it’s 10 mega pixels or something like that – a huge step up from the 3.4mp Sony I was using.  I will say one thing about that Sony – it was built like a tank.  I lost is twice in the same day one weekend when we were in Rockford IL for the Midwest BMX Nationals and got it back (twice) in good working order with only a few dents and dings after it had been run over by a car and kicked by countless teenagers in bike shoes.  (I am fully aware that I am one of the few people who could lose the same camera twice in the same day.  It’s a gift.)

My “new” camera, incidentally, is a Canon Powershot, and has never been lost.  The irony of losing the other one is that I had often berated my children about the danger to their lives if they ever lost my camera.  Yeah.  I’m that mom.

Okay, on to the photo.  I was out playing in the neighborhood with my new toy, at night mind you so the neighbors were probably scared until they saw it was just the neighborhood weirdo stalking among their flagpoles.  You can’t get much more summer than Old Glory and the 4th of July.

Old Glory

Old Glory

I grew up loving horses and read pretty much every book available about them as a kid.  The Black Stallion was my favorite.  I spent many a night daydreaming about riding The Black.

The photo below was taken at the graduation party of one of my relatives.  Now, we will see if they read my blog and recognize him.  Or her.  I’m not entirely sure.  But who cares?  Pony!

 

Pony!!!

Pony!!!

When I was a kid, my best friend used to say “It’s hotter than blue blazes!” in the summer.  The picture below, while not blue, certainly looks like it’s that hot.  Definitely fiery.

Hotter than blue blazes.

Here comes the sun!

Ah, kayaking!  Doubt we will get out there this year, as we are still trying to figure out where to keep the kayaks now that we moved, so I have to live vicariously thru my own photos.

Wish I was doing this right now!

Wish I was doing this right now!

This next photo is one of my favorite places to be:  Neshota Beach in Two Rivers, on Lake Michigan.  People often fly kites there, as well as the usual beach activities.  Personally, I like to lay on my blanket in a comatose state, with a jar of peanuts, a bottle of Spotted Cow beer, and a trashy novel.  High class, all the way.

IMG_0761

The photo below is from a different kind of beach.  This is Schoolhouse Beach on Washington Island in Door County, WI.  It is a rare smooth stone beach and it’s illegal to remove any of the stones.  And I did NOT remove any.  Nope. Nope. Nope.

Schoolhouse Beach, Washington Island

Schoolhouse Beach, Washington Island

Last summer, The Daver and I vacationed in the Badlands and Blackhills in South Dakota.  Awesome trip, and so beautiful.  One of my favorite shots.

Summer in the Badlands

Summer in the Badlands

The following is my obligatory summer dock photo.  Taken from a small public landing on a small lake near the small town of Brillion, WI, of which I don’t remember the name, because I’m old.  Another fabulous cycling find.

IMG_0571My final photo was taken just a few days ago, on another bike ride.  I saw the sun going down thru the branches and hopped off my bike and ran in some guys yard to snap this.  New neighbors are going to have to get used the me.

Sun going down over the Bay

Sun going down over the Bay

And that’s it folks!

Oh, and the picture of the horse reminded me of a story I need to tell you someday about the time I used to own a horse.  High in entertainment value and my usual dumb assery.  But you’re going to have to wait.  🙂

Sue
PS: Don’t forget to visit Cee and check out her photos, as well as those posted by the other folks. Really some talented people out there – way more talented than me! You can find her site by clicking here: Cee’s Photography

 

 

10 thoughts on “Sue The Explorer With Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Fire or Season of Summer

      1. Sue Post author

        Not so good. Having issues with my sciatica so it hurts a lot, and I don’t get good range of motion. I have been power walking instead – trying to keep a 14 min/mile pace or faster. I can still feel it but it’s manageable. I do throw in a few jogs here and there, but mostly walking. I don’t get the same “high” but I see more, it’s much more enjoyable, and I can sing to my music, which although a detriment to my neighbors is a lot of fun for me.

      2. Sue Slaght

        Sorry to hear about the sciatica. Have you been to physio? Wouldn’t it be nice if all of our body parts cooperated?
        Enjoy the walking and sing on my friend. Hope things improve.

      3. Sue Post author

        I need to go get a massage – but just haven’t taken the time. By physio, do you mean doctor or chiropractor? Haven’t been to either, regardless. Dr will tell me to quit doing repetitive exercise, to stretch it, ice it, take ibuprofen. Chiro- I have never been to one.

      4. Sue Slaght

        So not sure how it works in the US but here it was a physiotherapist who I saw a great deal when i was training for the marathon. I also saw a massage therapist and a chiropractor. Basically kept the health care system going.

  1. Pingback: Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge-Fire-Summer | WoollyMuses

Leave a Reply

