Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Cities and City Structures


Here are my entries for Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge:  Cities and City Structures

I travel to Boston once in a while for work, and these are shots taken from a couple of those trips.  Lately, I have been trying to only submit one or two photos for these challenges but this time, I am submitting four of them (gasp!).  I couldn’t decide which I liked better, and I had some fun editing them.  I hope you enjoy them!

Street art mural taken in Chinatown, Boston.

Chinatown, Boston

New England Holocaust Memorial.  The numbers you see etched in the glass are serial numbers of those murdered in the death camps.

New England Holocaust Memorial

“At first the bodies weren’t burned; they were buried.
In January, 1944, we were forced to dig up the bodies so they could be burned.
When the last mass grave was opened, I recognized my whole family – my mother, my sisters and their kids. They were all in there.”
– Motke Zaidl – Holocaust Survivor

This is a picture of the financial district.  The jumbled, narrow streets mixed with pre-revolutionary buildings and modern skyscrapers gave me the feeling I was walking in two centuries at the same time.

BroadSt2

And finally, a midnight stroll thru Faneuil Hall Square.

Faneuil Hall Square

For more entries, hop on over to Cee’s Photography!

Now I’m off to walk the dogs and get ready to see The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies.  Eeeeeeee!

Sue

PS.  All photos edited using iPhoto or Picmonkey.  I really need to get my own photo editing software.  Any ideas for something with a lot of features but an easy learning curve?

PPS.  No cake was harmed in the editing of these photos.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Cities and City Structures

  1. Cee Neuner

    Oh Sue you have a wonderful post this week. That mural is fabulous and I adore your second photo with the reflections. Actually I could just go on and on. Thanks for playing 🙂

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      Yes-the memorial was very powerful. To see so many numbers etched in each column and read the memories of survivors and rescuers brought home the realization we must not be silent in the face of hatred.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

