Share My Weird…I Mean World


This week I am participating in another Cee sponsored post, called Share Your World – in part because I felt like I could have a little fun with the questions, but mostly because I squandered the majority of my vacation playing Zelda: Ocarina of Time instead of writing.  Yes, I am serious and yes, I am fully aware of my nerd status.

One of the advantages of having our daughter move back home has been hooking up her Wii, and downloading some old N64 games.  N64 is my FAVORITE gaming system of all time – so it has been fun to spend a few weeks hours playing Zelda.  Personal hygiene be damned – I have Floormasters to kill!

Anyway, I didn’t finish the story I was going to post today, so you are stuck learning about me instead.

Oh, but before I do – did you know you can play Oregon Trail online now?  For free?  I played today.  Everyone died.

Okay – here we go:

How do you get rid of pesky phone calls from telemarketers?

Since we don’t have a landline anymore, this is pretty much a non-issue.  THANK GOD.

Remember when CallerID first came out and your phone would ring and you would run like hell (trip on the dog, stub your toe, and crack your head on the cupboard) to check the phone to see who was calling before they hung up, only to find out it was a telemarketer?  Didn’t that suck?  Yeah.  And I am so happy my kids will never have to live thru that hell.

That’s right up there with having to physically walk over to the TV to change my channel.  And walking to school.  Remember walking to school?  Horrifying!

What are you a “natural” at doing?

Being a dumb ass.  Seriously.  Thankfully, most people find it humorous.

How often do you get a haircut?

Usually every 6 weeks.  I get it colored and highlighted each time, too.  My hair grows pretty fast and I am too vain to let my hair be silver.

What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you hear the word “fun”?

I do a lot of things for fun – reading, writing, biking, hiking, eating, kayaking, photography – it’s a long list. But for things that make me giggle uncontrollably – just give me a few minutes with my friends.  Email, on the phone, texting or in person – doesn’t matter.

I’m even writing a book about them.  It’s called Shit My Friends Say, which is a total rip off of  Shit My Dad Says by Justin Halpern (which I have never read but I watched the sitcom a few times so does that count?).   I will have to rename my book once I think of something suitably witty, but it’s pretty much a compilation of conversations with my friends that made me laugh.  A lot of it is x-rated (thanks, Dawn) so my mom isn’t allowed to read it.

My only regret is that I didn’t start my compilation earlier.  I could have published two books by now.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Absolutely grateful for my husband.  That guy keeps my head above water.  And he’s funnier than shit, too.  I’m really saying “shit” a lot tonight.  My friend Dawn says it’s not a real swear word so I guess I’m safe.  She would know.

Next week, I hope to have the first part of a short story I am working on – you’ll have to let me know what you think.  Unless you don’t like it.  Then just lie to me.

GO PACK GO!

Sue

 

14 thoughts on “Share My Weird…I Mean World

  1. bernquist

    Is it weird that the first thing that comes to my mind when I hear the word “fun” is recklessly aggressive lounging with no pants, a refrigerator full of beer, some cheese, and an industrial sized bottle of Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce? I enjoyed reading your answers to these questions! Great post!

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      It would only be weird if you wanted to aggressively lounge with your pants ON. And here in Wisconsin, beer and cheese are always on the menu!

      Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      Vanity! All is vanity! Haha! I actually thought of you when I wrote that because your hair is so pretty but mine looks like ash right now. I’m hoping for silver like yours or my moms at some point. I must still have too much brown in mine.

      Reply
  2. treerabold

    Great shit! I’m really glad you didn’t get your story finished because I enjoyed laughing through this post! I enjoy your view on things….and the shit you talk about 🙂
    I think your friend Dawn is right….shit really has no power behind it….and that means it is not a swear word!

    As for the “silver”…..its just easier! I can barely stand to sit in the chair (stand to sit…seems wrong?) 30 minutes for a cut. If i had to stay long enough the hairdresser would probably have to chase me around the shop to finish up!

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      Love this shit! My mom read this and said “did you tell them you learned it from your mother?” Its her favorite too.

      My hairdresser is pretty fast but eventually I will let it go. I already keep my hair short for convenience so letting my natural color go can’t be too far around the corner. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

