One Flying Out Of The Cuckoos Nest


My Christmas gift from my son.  He shares my nerd genes.  Can't wait for this movie!

My Christmas gift from my son. He shares my nerd genes. Can’t wait for this movie!

Our son is moving out.

My first reaction was “Woo Hoo!!”.  My next reaction was “Boo Hoo!”.  (Did you see what I did there?  This is why I am a WRITER, people.)

One would think I would be more happy than sad about this seeing as I have been not-so-subtly dropping hints about it for the past two years.  In fact, as I type this, he is taking a shower while subjecting us to very loud, excruciatingly bad ear pollution (formerly known as “music”) that Lord knows I won’t miss.  But I find myself a little sad too.  It’s kind of the last childhood moment here. My baby is taking flight.

On a side note, I realize I sound just like my mother, who used to tell me how awful my music was.  “THAT’S NOT MUSIC!” she would yell over the Stereophonic screams of the latest and greatest hair band. And then she would make me turn it down.  She was so mean!  It’s a wonder I’m not robbing banks.

And for the record, my music was AWESOME.

I just remembered I also owned a Kenny Rogers album and I sang “Daytime Friends and Nighttime Lovers” with the wrong lyrics because I thought the chorus of  “And shake hands in the light of day…” was actually “And she cans in the light of day…” – as in “canning food” like pickles or tomato juice, which is something my mom used to do so it actually kinda made sense to me.   Shut up.

Okay, fine…maybe not ALL of my music was awesome.  Especially if I was singing it.  But still – 70’s and 80’s compared to now?  Hands down we had better music.

 

 

MOVING ON.

With Matt’s announcement, Dave and I saw a golden opportunity and offered it with fingers crossed. Might he be willing to take the sofa with him?

No, it’s not some gross old horse hair davenport. It’s a mostly perfect 3

-year-old dark brown leather reclining sofa that’s way too nice to live in a beer-swilling, boy-farting environment except for one tragic flaw.

It’s un-nappable.

Somehow, we bought a sofa that cannot be slept on with any degree of comfort.  It’s too short, it has a hump in the middle, and the seats aren’t deep enough for a “whole lotta woman” like me.  And that’s before you add the dogs in the mix.

"You can take the couch but you can't have my blankie!"

“You can take the couch but you can’t have my blankie!”

Of course he said “yes” the Anti-Napper, even though he was one of the biggest complainers about it.  It was free, and at his age, you don’t argue with free.  Unless it’s free furniture on the curb, in which case you don’t ever pick that up unless you also want some free cockroaches.

Fortunately, I am a shopping whiz and found an excellent replacement that is large enough to fit me AND the dogs AND the cats. Aaaannd…maybe a small pony. It also passed my covert, in-store, Sprawled-Out-Butt-Wiggle Test, which I was too embarrassed to perform on the other sofa before we purchased it, and that folks, is how you end up with an Anti-Napper.  Let my experience be your horrible warning.

With this move, we will have a spare bedroom again.  Our recently-moved-home daughter wants his old room (it has a back yard view of cavorting wildlife which is appealing I am sure, although ironically she never opens her shades EVER.) so we are going to move her in there, and then we have to move all the downstairs furniture in her room because we are finishing up the family room in the walkout.

Which led to the idea of making her room my office, and putting a reading nook in the family room where my desk currently resides

My reading nook where next winter I will cuddle on my chaise lounge with fuzzy blankets and mugs of hot coffee and a bookshelf full of books and read trashy novels while watching the birds fight over sunflower seeds.

Or maybe I will just nap.

Oh, and seeing as my office is going upstairs, then I needed a keyboard for my iPad so I can work from the family room in my reading nook (you know – when I’m not napping). And the only logical solution to that was to buy a used Apple USB keyboard from a guy at work and use my wireless keyboard from my iMac on my iPad instead.

Which led to this blog post because I was playing with the two keyboards and needed something to write about.

A little boring, I know. But that’s how life is sometimes. It was better than a sharp stick in the eye, right?

Sue

PS.  Did I mention my son was moving out?  Woo hoo!

PPS.  WAAAAAAAAAAAAH!

10 thoughts on “One Flying Out Of The Cuckoos Nest

  1. Sue Slaght

    The term ‘Anti-Napper’ will likely be picked up next year by Websters and added to the dictionary 🙂 Sounds like you are in the pre dessert phase of life. When the kids are coming and going it’s a bit like being too full after a meal. the meal was so good all those years and yet you have had enough but maybe just a little more.
    By the time they leave for ever it’s full on dessert buffet. At least that’s how we see it. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      Well you know I’m all about dessert! I think we have a few more years of “a little too full” with our girl but will get to the dessert buffet all in due time. I’ll just oogle the table from afar for now. 🙂

      Reply
  2. treerabold

    OK…..I am so happy to hear we are not the only people in this world that were silly enough to buy an “anti-napper” (love that word and agree with Sue…it will be in Webster!)
    We bought new furniture, leather couch, leather “love seat” and a matching recliner. both couches have built in recliners. We were so busy claiming our “seats” it never dawned on us that recliner couches have big humps that make it impossible to lay down the way one would enjoy laying down when not reclining!!

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      EXACTLY!!! Winner winner chicken dinner! 🙂 So do you still have your Anti-Napper? I think this may be a common theme among our age- we can finally afford nice furniture pieces and get so excited we forget to be practical!

      Reply
      1. treerabold

        Yes we still have it….we just bought it this Fall and have no children to pawn it off on!!
        You might be right….that practical thing gets me everytime!
        By the way…you have great taste in music!!

Leave a Reply

