5 Day Black and White Challenge – Day 3


Welcome to Day 3 of my participation in the 5 Day Black and White Challenge (first post and rules HERE)  Today I bring you the tale of two photos.

I have been having some fun experimenting in black and white, and below you see the same photos with different effects done to them.

Don’t ask me exactly what I did though.  I am one of those “click and see what happens” people because that’s just how clueless I am.  Hopefully, the more I play, the more I will learn!

bwtree fuzzytree

Which do you like better?  How about the next two?

bwcross bwcross2

I would like to nominate Steve Boer at Steve Boer Photography to play if he wants.  No obligation or pressure, Steve – it’s perfectly ok to decline!  The rest of you should go check out his site anyway, because he is a spectacular photographer, with a high tolerance for nerds.

Day 4 tomorrow!

Sue

 

19 thoughts on “5 Day Black and White Challenge – Day 3

  1. Helen C

    Love the trees, Sue. How did you do it? I know you said not to ask, but I like them so much. Maybe you remember a little bit??? 😉 I really like them a lot! What tool do you use? Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      Picmonkey- which is a free web application. I hit the black and white button first and then I play with the other effects like “orton” or “dusk” or “black and white focal zoom” etc. I think the fuzzy one was either orton or b&w focal.

      Reply
      1. Sue Post author

        It is – there is a lot you can do for free, although there are premium options too (ones you have to pay for). I have only worked with the free options.

    1. Sue Post author

      Thank you! And thanks for stopping by and commenting. I think those are the ones I like the best, too. I thought the fuzzy tree was cool when I first did it and it was fun to experiment, but I guess I’m a “normal” girl at heart…hahhahaaa. On the cross photos – I was trying to really accentuate the celtic markings on the cross – make it stand out more than the background.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: 5 Day Black and White Challenge – Day 1 | Steve Boer Photography

Leave a Reply

