Happy Anniversary – Friday Fictioneers


Okay, I’m trying my hand at Friday Fictioneers.  This is a first for me, and I’m a little nervous.  And I think my story is sort of lame.  But it was really fun doing it and a great brain exercise.  So, what the hell – jump in with both feet, right?

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY – Word Count 100

Photo courtesy of David Stewart

Photo courtesy of David Stewart

A line of hungry tourists snaked out of Wilson’s door.

“I know it’s our anniversary, but do we have to get ice cream?” asked Dave.

“Yes! It’s tradition! We can listen to the band while we wait.” Sue smiled. “Aw! They’re playing “I Love You Truly”! My grandpa always sang that with my grandma.”

“Like them?” Dave pointed to an elderly couple harmonizing by the pavilion.

“Yes, exactly like….” Sue stared, her mouth dropping.

The older couple looked back at them, smiling. The woman blew a kiss as they faded with the music.

“You have a weird family,” said Dave.

23 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary – Friday Fictioneers

  1. aliciajamtaas

    Welcome to FF. Warning: you might become addicted. This is a delightful story of tradition and memories. Remember, never self-critique. This is for fun and practice. Again, welcome to our merry band.

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      Thank you for your kind words and encouragement. I will take your advice on the self critique! I can totally see how this will become addicting – it was so fun and challenging- I can’t wait for the next one.

      Reply
  2. rochellewisoff

    Dear Sue,

    You had nothing to worry about. I’m glad you jumped in with both feet. I love the last line. I could see him deliver it with no surprise that her deceased grandparents appeared in the gazebo and then disappeared.

    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. I hope to read more from you in the future.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    Reply
  3. afairymind

    I really enjoyed reading this. Like Rochelle, I love how Dave reacts with a complete lack of surprise at the appearance of her grandparents ghosts.I wonder what other ‘weirdness’ her family is known for… 🙂

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      Thank you for reading and your input- that last line was different for the majority of the drafts but then I started thinking about how my husband would probably react and changed it. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      Thanks, Gemma! It was one of those things I had rewritten so many times I wasn’t sure what I ended up with at the end. Thanks for your vote of confidence!

      Reply
  4. jwdwrites

    Hey! That was really good! I was terrified when I wrote my first FF, I thought that everyone would say things like “hey, who left the door open? Some strange guy just wandered in.” I thought I would be treated like a gate-crasher and that my writing sucked so badly I had no right to presume that I could join them. Of course I was right but they were all too nice to tell me so I kept coming back. I hope you come back, you are obviously a writer. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      Yes, that is pretty much what I figured other people would think. But all of you have been so nice I guess I’ll keep coming back too. :). Thank you for the compliment! Hopefully I don’t make you change your mind after a few more entries. Lol.

      Reply
  5. Nan Falkner

    Dear Sue, This is a wonderful and magical story! I love it and her husband doesn’t think it’s weird that they fade in and out. Such a sweet tale. You did an awesome job! Welcome to FFF! Nan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

