3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge


Last week, my friend Helen invited me to participate in the “3 Quotes, 3 Days” challenge, which is to post a quote each day for 3 days and nominate 3 new bloggers to participate.  I’m going to cheat a little (Cheater, cheater, pumpkin eater…) and I’m not going to nominate anyone in particular and just say that whoever wants to join in is more than welcome.

I’m also going to cheat by doing all three of my quotes in one post (…had a wife and couldn’t keep her…wait….what?  I think I just messed up a nursery rhyme…) as a time saver.  While this could be seen as purely selfish on my part, I’m actually doing you a favor as you now only have to suffer thru one post and not three.  See?  I’m always thinking of your welfare.

“Live long and prosper.” – Spock, Star Trek

When I was 13, I thought Captain Kirk was the coolest character on Star Trek, not to mention hot.  He was my first movie star crush and my favorite episodes were always the ones where Kirk fell in love… *swoon*

Now as an oh-so-much wiser adult no longer under the mesmerizing affects of puberty, I have done the smart thing and fallen in love with the Wolverine instead.  You thought I was going to say Spock, didn’t you?  Not so much.  But I do love him – you know – as a friend.  And, he has been, and always shall be, the coolest character on Star Trek.

*Note to my friend Doreen.  I am fully aware that quoting Star Trek and having a teen crush on Captain Kirk and not dumb old Shaun Cassidy totally makes me a nerd.

*Note to my brother, Joe.  Thank you for saving me from the horrors of the Mickey Mouse Club and forcing me to watch Star Trek even at the risk of getting into trouble with mom because you would rather watch nothing at all than allow me to watch weird children dancing around in mouse ears, and after a fierce fight over the channel dial, you pushed me into the carpet and pulled the plug and I went crying to mom.  I owe you one.

“That is one big pile of shit…” – Ian Malcom, Jurassic Park

My family has an abnormal addiction to certain movies, and we randomly quote them in day to day living.  Perhaps you are wondering why even use a movie quote as one of my picks and not something profound from Ghandi or Sue the Great?  It’s because stupid movie quotes are like an inside joke – a connectivity as a family – sharing the same sense of humor and same taste in movie genre enabling us to watch them 100 billion trillion gazillion times in a row.

 

It was really hard for me to pick just one quote from our entire repertoire of memorized movies.  I chose this one because you know how much I love the “S” word, and it covers just about anything life throws at you.  Bad hair, bad job assignment, bad dinner.  Plus Ian Malcolm is the cat’s pajamas.

Note to anyone still reading: Myself, my son, and my daughter were standing in line waiting to see Jurassic World, when we heard someone make the sound of Austin Power’s phone ringtone.  We had found our people.

“Hurry up and get the work done so we can screw around.” – Dave

I was going to put a serious quote in here – change the tone and be all profound and philosophical and high brow tootin’ fa-lootin’.  But I’m really tired because my friend Kay and I kicked asphalt today riding 65 miles in the Titletown Bike Tour and I didn’t take a nap after so now my eyelids feel like they weigh 500 pounds each.

Instead you now get my hubby’s daily mantra.  We live by this code in our house – there’s much tom foolery to be done, but we don’t want to do it with dirty laundry and a full sink of dishes.  I don’t have a video for this one.  You’ll just have to use your imagination.

Until next time my friends –

Live long and prosper,

Sue

14 thoughts on “3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge

    1. Sue Post author

      Thank you! 65 isn’t bad at all and this is a pretty well organized ride with well stocked rest stops. And not nearly as many hills as you seem to find in your international travels! 🙂

      Reply
  1. Helen C

    Thanks for participating, Sue. I love your sense of humor. I like how you combined 3 quotes into one post – that’s very smart! I smiled at your quotes. But 65 miles? 😉
    Take care.

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      Honestly- 65 miles isn’t that bad! It sounds worse than it is. They have rest stops with food, water and Gatorade so that keeps you fueled and hydrated. Thank you for inviting me to play!

      Reply
      1. Helen C

        I am not convinced 😉 Two miles will be more than enough for my you-know-what. Ha ha . Good for you! (Hmm… maybe I need a
        custom made seat…)

      2. Sue Post author

        Haha! Yes, that aspect does take some time in the saddle to get your you-know-what used to it. That is why cyclists wear funny padded shorts and invest in chamois butter! 🙂

  2. treerabold

    I have several comments for this post…..
    1) 65 miles!! Go girl!!
    2) I think we finally found the area we differ in….my brother and I used to fight over the channel dial too….I fought against Star Trek and fought for Mod Squad 🙂 I had such a crush on “Julie!” I have many people like you in my life….i’m just not one of them 😦
    3) However, I love the idea of “Sue the Great”
    4) I also love your husband’s quote….THAT is something I would say…I haven’t, but if I had thought of it first I would have!!

    I think that completes my list of comments….have a nice day!!

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      Oh I was also against Star Trek- I really wanted to watch the Mickey Mouse Club. That’s why we were fighting. But now I’m definitely a Trekkie. 🙂 I remember the Mod Squad! I don’t think I watched it that much tho.

      65 is easy if you are riding with friends and people are feeding you along the way. Plus it is fairly flat but maybe not as flat as Texas.

      Feel free to borrow Dave’s saying. You can claim the Texan version of it. Lol.

      Reply
      1. treerabold

        43 is my farthest so far. I agree all rides are easier with friends.
        I also thought Texas was flat. But when u start running/biking suddenly you realize it isn’t!!
        Grant it we don’t have “big” hills…..but we have hills!!
        And all bike rides seem to be routed along hilly areas!!

        As for your husband’s quote….I accept the challenge to adapt it to Texas “speak”
        I’ll share when complete!!

      2. Sue Post author

        That’s kind of how Wisconsin is-but compared to places like the carolinas or Colorado I guess we are pretty flat. Lol.

Leave a Reply

