Hot Tub Time Machine


Once upon a time I was going to write a blog post about the odd phenomenon of abandoned shoes found lying on our streets, county highways, and interstates.  I mean, it’s weird- right?  Because it’s not even pairs of shoes.  It’s single shoes.  And most disturbing, sometimes it’s a toddler shoe.  Like, what even happened here?  How did some baby just randomly lose a shoe on the interstate?  And it’s not like you’ve only seen them once or twice – IT’S ALL THE TIME.  Anywhere in the US, you can hop in the car, drive down your local highway and find at least one shoe within the first 10 miles.

That alone is enough to call Scooby-Doo and the Mystery Machine – time to bring in those meddlin’ kids.  But my discovery this morning really takes the cake.  And you know how I feel about cake.

On my way to town, I noticed a large, round object in the ditch.  I was running late (shocker, I know), so I only glanced at it, thinking it was a big spool of construction wire or maybe a big new cement culvert or something.  But on the way home, I was driving at a much more sedate pace (translation: speed limit), and noticed that what I had originally thought was a culvert, was actually an abandoned hot tub.

Wait.  What?

A hot tub?  How does one go about littering a hot tub?  It’s not like chucking an empty pop can (or baby shoe) out the window.  This is a fricking hot tub.  A HOT TUB PEOPLE.

Hot Tub Time Machine

Abandoned Hot Tub Time Machine. 1986, anyone?

This is by far, the weirdest, random, piece of trash I have ever found on the side of the road.  Like, whoever threw this out deserves a 5 million dollar littering fine, and maybe a medal because how did they even lift it out the window.

Okay, I’m sure it was on the back of someones pick up truck but still.  “Gee, I don’t want my hot tub anymore.  I think I’ll just go leave it on the side of the road.”   Who does that?

Hot Tub Time Machine

Just to prove I really did find it on the side of the road, here is a photo taken a little farther out.

Seeing it reminded me of the movie, Hot Tub Time Machine – a predictable but somewhat funny movie where 4 guys get drunk and go back in time to 1986 via faulty hot tub and bizarre Chevy Chase cameos.  It was tempting to make a “FREE- HOT TUB TIME MACHINE” sign for it and con Dave into sitting in it with me just for the photo-op.  But then we’d have to haul over some booze bottles, make the sign, fill the tub with water, find Chevy Chase….  Plus, maybe it really is a time machine?  Did I really want to chance 1986 hair?

So I just snapped this plain old boring photo and you will all just have to be happy with that.

Hot Tubbingly Yours,

Sue

PS- this post is in participation of Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge.  Click on the icon to join the fun!cob-banner

 

24 thoughts on “Hot Tub Time Machine

    1. Sue Post author

      Maybe we should collect your sofa cushions and spread them around the hot tub to create a more inviting atmosphere next to that cornfield.

      Reply
  1. Kevin

    Hot tubs and mattresses…America is a wonderful place to live. Did you pick it up and then load it up onto the roof of your car? No rope needed; just hold it on the top with your hands!

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      You know, I briefly thought about hauling it home. We only live about a half mile from where it was tossed. But the gnarly mess of electronics and its new residence in the ditch seems to indicate it’s past saving. Although it would make a great hillbilly bird bath. Or I could fill it with dirt and plant flowers in it. Decisions, decisions!

      Reply
      1. Kevin

        Our hot tub broke down three years ago and I tried to fix it. However the parts are so expensive, I just gave up on fixing the old heater and control unit. I bought a whole need system (today) and will install it in the hot tub this week. At lest I hope to.

      2. Sue Post author

        Let me know if you get sent back to 1986 in the process. Might I suggest you stay away from illegal Russian energy drinks and Chevy Chase while you do the repairs? 🙂

    2. Sue Post author

      Oh – and have to comment on holding on to something with your hands as you try to haul it on the roof of your car. I’m assuming you have witnessed this – holy crap on a cracker. I hope it was only a mattress you saw- and not a piano (or hot tub- good lord!) or something.

      Reply
  2. Sue Slaght

    Sue why is it I think only you could find this oddball item! That trumps anything from any ditch I have seen to be sure!! Oh if objects could talk and tell their sad tale from hot tub heaven to ditched on the side of the road.

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      Hmmmm- I’m not too sure I want to hear the hot tub’s tale – lol. “What happens in the hot tub stays in the hot tub.” But it would be interesting if trash could talk. We could call it “trash talk”. Hahahahahaaa- I kill me.

      Reply
  3. Barbara Iversen

    Fingerprint it so the culprit can be ticketed! $5 million dollars should cover a few Wisconsin potholes, do ya think?! 😉

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      At least a few! Right now I think the only prints we will find on it are raccoon or possum. Which gives me an idea. How hilarious would it be to stick a bunch of stuffed wildlife in the hot tub and surround it with wine glasses and beer bottles? Dang- that sounds like a lot of work again.

      Reply
  4. Maribeth

    But then you could take a picture of it with the animals in it and hang it next to the picture of the dogs playing poker!

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      That would be hilarious, however. But I don’t have a great supply of stuffed animals at my disposal anymore. If only I knew a taxidermist.

      Reply
  5. Haylee

    Haha, so funny! I’m totally with you on how weird the shoe scenario is, although I find adult shoes weirder – toddlers lose them all the time from pushchairs and nobody noices until getting home. But a hot tub? Yeah, definitely random. Maybe it will fill with rain eventually be become a wildlife haven!
    Thanks for stopping by and liking my photography post too 🙂

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      The town already picked it up so no chance of turning it into a wildlife haven – or time machine for that matter. I guess we should have grabbed it while we had the chance! 🙂

      Reply
  6. treerabold

    Odd ball it is and hilarious!!
    How does a hot tub end up on the side of the road? I wish I could share something just as odd that I’ve noticed dumped on the side of the road….but nope!! You win!!
    I do wish you had done the photo op….but for now I’ll just use my imagination!

    Reply
    1. Sue Post author

      I would normally say imagination is better than any photo op but then again – “truth is stranger than fiction” also rings true here. The town already picked it up so I guess my chance is gone. Unless dumping hot tubs off on the side of the road becomes a trend…lol.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

